The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate United States Capitol Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate United States Capitol Washington, DC 20510

March 3, 2022

Re: Support Driftnet Provisions (Title II of Division H) in COMPETES Act

Dear Leader Schumer and Leader McConnell:

We represent a group of varied stakeholders within the fisheries management world urging the Senate to pass the *Driftnet Modernization and Bycatch Reduction Act* as included (Title II of Division H) in the House-passed America COMPETES Act of 2022.

Enactment of the bipartisan Driftnet Modernization and Bycatch Reduction Act will transition the last U.S. fishery that uses large mesh drift gillnets away from this damaging fishing practice. Although the fishery is small, with fewer than twenty active fishermen, it is highly wasteful. For years, more dolphins have been killed in this fishery than all other observed fisheries combined along the West Coast and in Alaska, and the fishery regularly discards more marine life than it keeps. Closing what is essentially a loophole in U.S. law regarding such fishing will set an example and support United States efforts combating large-scale driftnet fishing that routinely occurs on the high seas, including by vessels originating from China.

Earlier this Congress, the Senate passed, by unanimous consent, this legislation as a standalone bill (S. 273), and during the 116<sup>th</sup> Congress, identical legislation (S. 906) passed both chambers. Passage within the COMPETES Act would see this important legislation enacted into law. Thank you for your consideration of our views, and we look forward to working with you on this issue.

Sincerely,

American Sportfishing Association BoatU.S.

Center for Sportfishing Policy Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation

International Game Fish Association National Marine Manufacturers Association

Oceana The Pew Charitable Trusts

Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership Wild Oceans

cc: The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House, U.S. House of Representatives
The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Minority Leader, U.S. House of Representatives
The Honorable Maria Cantwell, Chair, U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and
Transportation

The Honorable Roger Wicker, Ranking Member, U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation

The Honorable Raúl Grijalva, Chair, U.S. House Committee on Natural Resources

The Honorable Bruce Westerman, Ranking Member, U.S. House Committee on Natural Resources