Changes to World Records, Requirements, Slams and Trophy Clubs

During the January meeting the IGFA Board of Trustees voted on a number of new changes to the IGFA’s World Records and Slam and Trophy Clubs that are effective May 1, 2019.



Minimum Ratios

The IGFA has changed its minimum ratio to a uniform ½ to 1 ratio for all Line and Tippet Classes.  Under this new ratio, the weight of the fish must now be at least half as much as the Line or Tippet Class that it qualifies for and will be based on pounds.  For example, a fish entered for a 15 kg (30 lb) Line Class record must now weigh a minimum of 6.8 kg (15 lb).



New Eligible Species for Line Class,
Fly Rod and Junior Angler Records

The IGFA will begin maintaining separate Atlantic and Pacific record categories for bonefish (Albula spp.) in the same way that we currently do for snook (Centropomus spp.).  With at least 11 species of bonefish found worldwide, this will provide more record opportunities for anglers that pursue this iconic inshore game fish. Current records for bonefish will be reassigned based on where they were caught to reflect these new categories. 

Two new species will be added to Line Class, Tippet Class and Junior/Smallfry record categories: snubnose pompano (Trachinotus blochii), and milkfish (Chanos chanos).  Both of these species are highly sought after by anglers in the Indo-Pacific region and will also comprise part of the new IGFA Inshore Grand and Royal Slam Clubs.


New Inshore Grand Slam Club and Royal Slam Club

Formerly, the IGFA’s Inshore Grand Slam Club consisted of just four species: bonefish, tarpon, permit and snook.  The IGFA has now expanded this club to include the following species to make this popular club more accessible to anglers around the world:

Catching any three of these species in a day in accordance with IGFA International Angling Rules constitutes an Inshore Grand Slam, catching any four in a day constitutes an Inshore Super Grand Slam and catching any five in a day constitutes a Fantasy Slam.  Catching all 13 species during the course of a lifetime earns an angler the Inshore Royal Slam!


New Bigeye and Yellowfin Tuna Trophy Clubs

The IGFA will be adding two new opportunities to its prestigious Trophy Club program. Now, any angler that catches a bigeye tuna (Atlantic or Pacific) or a yellowfin tuna fishing in accordance with IGFA Angling Rules that weighs at least 90 kg (200 lb) or has a fork length of at least 1.7 meters (70 inches) will qualify for one of these new trophy clubs.


Collectively, these new species and Slams and Trophy Clubs will provide more opportunities for anglers to get their names on the IGFA’s new website and publications.  So, whether you’re inshore, offshore angler or both, take a look at these new angler achievement opportunities and see if you have what it takes to get your name in the IGFA World Record Game Fishes Book!